top of page

Normes de certification actuelles

Normes actuellement utilisées dans le Programme d'évaluation des diplômes (CAP).

Les candidats choisiraient un volet de pratique en vertu de la norme 8 qui correspond le mieux à leur formation et à leur expérience.


An introduction to the Canadian standards for professional forester certification.

Norme 1

Tree and Stand DynamicsKnowledge of tree and stand  establishment, growth and mortality, forms the basis of understanding how the forest ecosystem  functions.

Norme 2

Forest to Landscape, Structure and Function: Canada’s forested ecosystems are diverse and complex systems arising out of the interaction between  living and non­living components over time.  Knowledge of composition, structure and function of forested ecosystems at scales ranging from aggregates of stands to landscapes is essential to describe and  valuate current conditions, predict the effects of environmental change, and practice conservation and  management.

Norme 3

Forest Management: Forest ecosystem management balances ecological, social and economic demands with the capacity of forest resources to provide for present and future values.

Norme 4

Economics and Administration of Forestry: Utilizing forest resources requires knowledge of the principles of allocation of limited resources among competing interests and the economic, policy and administrative forces that cause change.

Norme 5

Leadership Skills: Professional foresters must possess critical reasoning skills to analyze and communicate complex ideas clearly and to provide advice to a range of clients.

Norme 6

Information Acquisition and Analysis: The management of Canada's natural resources requires the acquisition and analysis of quantitative and qualitative data.

Norme 7

Professionalism and Ethics: Professional foresters have integrity and are competent, independent and accountable for their actions and decisions. They maintain professional standards and conduct based on ethical principles including life-long learning and continuing competency requirements.


Additional information to assist in understanding and implementing the credential standards.

bottom of page